USDA Forest Service

North Central Research Station


North Central Research Station
1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108

(651) 649-5000

United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service.

Publication Details

Note: In October 2006, the North Central Research Station and the Northeastern Research Station joined to form the Northern Research Station. New publications are being added to the Northern Research Station Publications & Data site.

This publication is also available at:

Title: Native hardwood trees of the central hardwood region

Author: Pijut, Paula M.

Year: 2005

Publication: FNR-218. Purdue University School of Forestry and Natural Resources. West Lafayette, IN. 16 p.

Abstract: Trees are planted for various reasons including, timber production, wildlife habitat, riparian buffers, native woodland restoration, windbreaks, watershed protection, erosion control, and conservation (Indiana NRCS 2002). Establishment of hardwood plantings requires planning, a commitment of time and resources, proper planting, maintenance, and protection. Successful establishment and development of hardwood trees is higher if the site is prepared properly and the appropriate species is selected for the site. In the central hardwood region there are six major areas based upon geologic and glacial history (Leopold et al. 1998). This region includes the Appalachian plateaus (eastern Tennessee and Kentucky, southeastern Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York), the central lowlands (Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Michigan), the interior low plateau (central Tennessee and Kentucky), the Ouachita and Ozark plateaus (Arkansas and southern Missouri), the ridge and valley (central Alabama through Vermont, from the coastal plain to the south and the St. Lawrence lowland to the north) and blue ridge areas (northern Georgia to central Pennsylvania, including the central and southern portions of the Appalachian crest) (Leopold et al. 1998). This publication is intended to provide the landowner, interested in planting hardwood trees, with a list of native hardwood trees of the central hardwood region and their basic natural growing environment.

Key Words: Aceraceae - maple family, Betulaceae - birch family, Bignoniaceae - bignonia family, Cornaceae - dogwood family, Ebenaceae - ebony famliy, Ericaceae - heath family, Fabaceae - bean, pea family, Fagaceae - beech, oak family, Hamamelidaceae - witch hazel family, Hipocastanaceae - buckeye family, Juglandacaea - hickory, pecan, walnut family, Lauraceae - laurel family, Magnoliaceae - magnolia family, Moraceae - mulberry family, Nyssaceae - gum family, Oleaceae - olive family, Platanaceae - sycamore family, Rosaceae - rose family, Salicaceae - willow famiy, Styraceae - snowbell family, Tiliaceae - basswood family, Ulmaceae - elm family.

File Size: 492 kb's


This publication is available only online.

color printer View or print this publication


Convert this PDF document to an html document using Adobe's online conversion tool.

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader

USDA Forest Service - North Central Research Station
Last Modified: March 31, 2006

USDA logo which links to the department's national site. Forest Service logo which links to the agency's national site.